Hyundai Santa Fe Towing Capacity by Year (2017–2026)
The 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe tows up to 4,500 lb. Pick a year for every engine, cab and axle ratio.
Ratings on this page last changed .
Shop Class III hitches for the Santa Fe →Sponsored link
4,500lb trailer
XRT, 2.5T
- GCWR
- —
- Hitch
- Class III
- Years
- 1
Maximum towing capacity by model year
| Year | Max trailer (lb) | Configuration that achieves it |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 4,5002026 Hyundai Santa Fe Features and Specifications, p. 21 · 18 Sep 2026 | XRT, 2.5T |
No manufacturer ratings published on this site yet for 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025.
All 3 2026 configurations · or open the 2026 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XRT | 2.5T | not stated | — | 4,5002026 Hyundai Santa Fe Features and Specifications, p. 21 · 18 Sep 2026 | Class III |
| — | 2.5T | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Hyundai Santa Fe Features and Specifications, p. 21 · 18 Sep 2026 | Class II |
| — | 1.6T HEV | not stated | — | 2,0002026 Hyundai Santa Fe Features and Specifications, p. 21 · 18 Sep 2026 | Class I |
Safety: Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle. Your vehicle's certification label (driver's door jamb) and owner's manual override this site.
Can the 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe tow it?
Enter the loaded trailer weight. Tongue weight is assumed at 13% for the payload check; passengers and cargo are not included — use the full calculator for those.
Enter a trailer weight to see whether it is within every published limit for the configuration you pick.
Towing setup for the 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe
What to fit, in order · sized to its 4,500 lb rating
This page contains sponsored product links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this works.
- See options on Amazon →
Class III receiver hitchEssential
2026 Hyundai Santa Fe is rated to 4,500 lb, which falls in Class III (up to 8,000 lb).
- See options on Amazon →
Ball mountEssential
Ball mount drop/rise to keep the trailer level.
- See options on Amazon →
7-pin wiring harnessEssential
A 7-pin connector carries the brake-controller output and 12V charge line.
- See options on Amazon →
Trailer brake controllerHeavier trailers
Trailers over about 1,500 lb need their own brakes in most US states; thresholds vary by state.
Links open a search filtered to this vehicle. Confirm fit with the seller before buying; the manufacturer's rating and your door-jamb label still set the limit.
Frequently asked
- How much can a 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe tow?
- The 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe tows up to 4,500 lb when equipped as XRT, 2.5T (2026 Hyundai Santa Fe Features and Specifications, page 21, retrieved 18 Sep 2026).
- How much can a 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe with the 2.5T tow?
- Up to 4,500 lb, as XRT, 2.5T. Across the 2 configurations with this engine, ratings run from 3,500 lb to 4,500 lb depending on cab, drive and axle ratio.
- How much can a 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe with the 1.6T HEV tow?
- Up to 2,000 lb, as 1.6T HEV. Every listed configuration with this engine is rated the same.
- Can a 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe tow 3,500 lb?
- Only in some configurations. 2 of the 3 listed for 2026 are rated at or above 3,500 lb; the lowest that qualifies is 3,500 lb as 2.5T. The rest are rated below it, so the configuration decides.
- Which 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe configurations can tow 3,500 lb?
- 2 of the 3 listed for 2026 are rated at or above 3,500 lb, the highest being XRT, 2.5T at 4,500 lb. By engine, that is the 2.5T at up to 4,500 lb. Cab, drive and axle ratio decide the rest, so check the row that matches your vehicle.
- Which Santa Fe configuration tows the most?
- For 2026, the highest manufacturer rating is 4,500 lb for the XRT, 2.5T. Other engines, axle ratios and cab/drive combinations are rated lower; see the per-year table.
- What hitch class does the Santa Fe need?
- A 4,500 lb rating falls in Class III. Lower-rated configurations may need a lower class; the class never raises the vehicle's own rating.
- Do these ratings apply to my truck?
- Only if your vehicle matches the configuration in the row, including the axle ratio and tow package. Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle; the certification label on the driver's door jamb and the owner's manual override this site.