Toyota Sequoia Towing Capacity by Year (2017–2026)
The 2026 Toyota Sequoia tows up to 9,500 lb. Pick a year for every engine, cab and axle ratio.
Ratings on this page last changed .
Shop Class IV hitches for the Sequoia →Sponsored link
9,500lb trailer
SR5, as specified for grade, 122.0" WB, 3.31 axle
- GCWR
- 15,600
- Hitch
- Class IV
- Years
- 1
Maximum towing capacity by model year
| Year | Max trailer (lb) | Configuration that achieves it |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 9,5002026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_sr5:7946 · 16 Sep 2026 | SR5, as specified for grade, 122.0" WB, 3.31 axle |
No manufacturer ratings published on this site yet for 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025.
All 8 2026 configurations · or open the 2026 page
| Trim | Engine | Bed | Drive | Axle | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Payload (lb) | GVWR (lb) | GCWR (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 122.0" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 9,5002026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_sr5:7946 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,730 | 7,350 | 15,600 | Class IV |
| Limited | as specified for grade | 122" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 9,3002026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_limited:7948 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,565 | 7,420 | 15,600 | Class IV |
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 122.0" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 9,1202026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_sr5:7947 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,555 | 7,585 | 15,600 | Class IV |
| TRD Pro | as specified for grade | 122.0" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 9,0202026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_trd_pro:7953 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,435 | 7,585 | 15,600 | Class IV |
| Limited | as specified for grade | 122.0" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 9,0202026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_limited:7949 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,485 | 7,660 | 15,600 | Class IV |
| Platinum | as specified for grade | 122.0" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 9,0102026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_platinum:7951 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,410 | 7,560 | 15,600 | Class IV |
| 1794 Edition | as specified for grade | 122" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 9,0102026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_1794_edition:7957 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,410 | 7,560 | 15,600 | Class IV |
| Capstone | as specified for grade | 122.0" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 8,9802026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_capstone:7955 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,375 | 7,560 | 15,600 | Class IV |
Safety: Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle. Your vehicle's certification label (driver's door jamb) and owner's manual override this site.
Can the 2026 Toyota Sequoia tow it?
Enter the loaded trailer weight. Tongue weight is assumed at 13% for the payload check; passengers and cargo are not included — use the full calculator for those.
Enter a trailer weight to see whether it is within every published limit for the configuration you pick.
Towing setup for the 2026 Toyota Sequoia
What to fit, in order · sized to its 9,500 lb rating
This page contains sponsored product links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this works.
- See options on Amazon →
Class IV receiver hitchEssential
2026 Toyota Sequoia is rated to 9,500 lb, which falls in Class IV (up to 10,000 lb).
- See options on Amazon →
Ball mountEssential
Ball mount drop/rise to keep the trailer level.
- See options on Amazon →
7-pin wiring harnessEssential
A 7-pin connector carries the brake-controller output and 12V charge line.
- See options on Amazon →
Trailer brake controllerHeavier trailers
Trailers over about 1,500 lb need their own brakes in most US states; thresholds vary by state.
- See options on Amazon →
Weight-distribution hitchHeavier trailers
Recommended when the trailer exceeds the manufacturer's threshold for this configuration or half the vehicle's curb weight.
- See options on Amazon →
Tow mirrorsWide trailers
Required in many states when the trailer is wider than the tow vehicle.
Links open a search filtered to this vehicle. Confirm fit with the seller before buying; the manufacturer's rating and your door-jamb label still set the limit.
Frequently asked
- How much can a 2026 Toyota Sequoia tow?
- The 2026 Toyota Sequoia tows up to 9,500 lb when equipped as SR5, as specified for grade, 122.0" WB, 3.31 axle (2026 Toyota Sequoia specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:sequoia_sr5:7946, retrieved 16 Sep 2026).
- Can a 2026 Toyota Sequoia tow 8,000 lb?
- Yes. Every one of the 8 configurations listed for 2026 is rated at or above 8,000 lb.
- Which Sequoia configuration tows the most?
- For 2026, the highest manufacturer rating is 9,500 lb for the SR5, as specified for grade, 122.0" WB, 3.31 axle. Other engines, axle ratios and cab/drive combinations are rated lower; see the per-year table.
- What is the GCWR of a 2026 Toyota Sequoia?
- 15,600 lb, depending on the configuration, across the 8 configurations listed for 2026 that state one. Gross combined weight rating is the most the truck and loaded trailer may weigh together. The figure for your own vehicle is on the certification label inside the driver's door jamb, and the table above lists it per configuration.
- What hitch class does the Sequoia need?
- A 9,500 lb rating falls in Class IV. Lower-rated configurations may need a lower class; the class never raises the vehicle's own rating.
- Do these ratings apply to my truck?
- Only if your vehicle matches the configuration in the row, including the axle ratio and tow package. Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle; the certification label on the driver's door jamb and the owner's manual override this site.