Honda CR-V Towing Capacity by Year (2017–2026)
The 2026 Honda CR-V tows up to 1,500 lb. Pick a year for every engine, cab and axle ratio.
Ratings on this page last changed .
Shop Class I hitches for the CR-V →Sponsored link
1,500lb trailer
Hybrid, In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1,498 cc, 2WD, 5.640 axle
- GCWR
- —
- Hitch
- Class I
- Years
- 8
Maximum towing capacity by model year
| Year | Max trailer (lb) | Configuration that achieves it |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 1,5002026 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Hybrid · 16 Sep 2026 | Hybrid, In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1,498 cc, 2WD, 5.640 axle |
| 2025 | 1,5002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | LX, 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc, 2WD, 5.640 axle |
| 2024 | 1,5002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | LX, 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc, 2WD, 5.640 axle |
| 2023 | 1,5002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | LX, 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc, 2WD, 5.640 axle |
| 2022 | 1,5002022 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | LX, In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc, 5.64 axle |
| 2021 | 1,5002021 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | LX, In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc, 5.64 axle |
| 2020 | 1,5002020 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | LX, as specified for trim |
| 2019 | 1,5002019 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | LX, In-Line 4-Cylinder 2356 cc cc |
No manufacturer ratings published on this site yet for 2017, 2018.
All 1 2026 configurations · or open the 2026 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Axle | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hybrid | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002026 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Hybrid · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
All 11 2025 configurations · or open the 2025 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Axle | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| LX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | 2WD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | AWD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport-L | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | 2WD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport-L | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | AWD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport Touring | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | AWD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002025 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport Touring · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
All 11 2024 configurations · or open the 2024 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Axle | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| LX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | 2WD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | AWD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport-L | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | 2WD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport-L | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | AWD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport Touring | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | AWD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002024 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport Touring · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
All 9 2023 configurations · or open the 2023 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Axle | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| LX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | 2WD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | 1.5L DI VTEC Turbo 1,498 cc | AWD | 5.640 | — | 1,5002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | 2WD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | AWD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Sport Touring | 2.0L DI Atkinson 1,993 cc | AWD | 4.438 | — | 1,0002023 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Sport Touring · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
All 5 2022 configurations · or open the 2022 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Axle | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LX | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002022 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Special Edition | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002022 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Special Edition · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002022 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002022 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Touring | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002022 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Touring · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
All 5 2021 configurations · or open the 2021 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Axle | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LX | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002021 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Special Edition | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002021 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Special Edition · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002021 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002021 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Touring | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1498 cc cc | not stated | 5.64 | — | 1,5002021 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Touring · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
All 4 2020 configurations · or open the 2020 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LX | as specified for trim | not stated | — | 1,5002020 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | as specified for trim | not stated | — | 1,5002020 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | as specified for trim | not stated | — | 1,5002020 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Touring | as specified for trim | not stated | — | 1,5002020 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Touring · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
All 4 2019 configurations · or open the 2019 page
| Trim | Engine | Drive | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LX | In-Line 4-Cylinder 2356 cc cc | not stated | — | 1,5002019 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:LX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Single-Scroll MHI TD03 Turbo and Internal Wastegate 1498 cc cc | not stated | — | 1,5002019 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| EX-L | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Single-Scroll MHI TD03 Turbo and Internal Wastegate 1498 cc cc | not stated | — | 1,5002019 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:EX-L · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
| Touring | In-Line 4-Cylinder with Single-Scroll MHI TD03 Turbo and Internal Wastegate 1498 cc cc | not stated | — | 1,5002019 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Touring · 16 Sep 2026 | Class I |
Safety: Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle. Your vehicle's certification label (driver's door jamb) and owner's manual override this site.
Can the 2026 Honda CR-V tow it?
Enter the loaded trailer weight. Tongue weight is assumed at 13% for the payload check; passengers and cargo are not included — use the full calculator for those.
Enter a trailer weight to see whether it is within every published limit for the configuration you pick.
Towing setup for the 2026 Honda CR-V
What to fit, in order · sized to its 1,500 lb rating
This page contains sponsored product links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this works.
- See options on Amazon →
Class I receiver hitchEssential
2026 Honda CR-V is rated to 1,500 lb, which falls in Class I (up to 2,000 lb).
- See options on Amazon →
Ball mountEssential
Ball mount drop/rise to keep the trailer level.
- See options on Amazon →
7-pin wiring harnessEssential
A 7-pin connector carries the brake-controller output and 12V charge line.
Links open a search filtered to this vehicle. Confirm fit with the seller before buying; the manufacturer's rating and your door-jamb label still set the limit.
Frequently asked
- How much can a 2026 Honda CR-V tow?
- The 2026 Honda CR-V tows up to 1,500 lb when equipped as Hybrid, In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1,498 cc, 2WD, 5.640 axle (2026 Honda CR-V Specifications & Features (Honda newsroom), #specifications:Hybrid, retrieved 16 Sep 2026).
- Which CR-V configuration tows the most?
- For 2026, the highest manufacturer rating is 1,500 lb for the Hybrid, In-Line 4-Cylinder with Turbocharger 1,498 cc, 2WD, 5.640 axle. Other engines, axle ratios and cab/drive combinations are rated lower; see the per-year table.
- What hitch class does the CR-V need?
- A 1,500 lb rating falls in Class I. Lower-rated configurations may need a lower class; the class never raises the vehicle's own rating.
- Has the CR-V towing capacity changed since 2019?
- The highest rated configuration was 1,500 lb in 2019 and 1,500 lb in 2026. Each year's full table is linked above.
- Do these ratings apply to my truck?
- Only if your vehicle matches the configuration in the row, including the axle ratio and tow package. Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle; the certification label on the driver's door jamb and the owner's manual override this site.