Toyota Highlander Towing Capacity by Year (2017–2026)
The 2026 Toyota Highlander tows up to 5,000 lb. Pick a year for every engine, cab and axle ratio.
Ratings on this page last changed .
Shop Class III hitches for the Highlander →Sponsored link
5,000lb trailer
XLE, as specified for grade, 112.2" WB
- GCWR
- —
- Hitch
- Class III
- Years
- 1
Maximum towing capacity by model year
| Year | Max trailer (lb) | Configuration that achieves it |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 5,0002026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_xle:6953 · 16 Sep 2026 | XLE, as specified for grade, 112.2" WB |
No manufacturer ratings published on this site yet for 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025.
All 7 2026 configurations · or open the 2026 page
| Trim | Engine | Bed | Drive | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | GVWR (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XLE | as specified for grade | 112.2" WB | not stated | — | 5,0002026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_xle:6953 · 16 Sep 2026 | 5,970 | Class III |
| Platinum | as specified for grade | 112.2" WB | not stated | — | 5,0002026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_platinum:6957 · 16 Sep 2026 | 5,970 | Class III |
| XSE | as specified for grade | 112.2" WB | not stated | — | 5,0002026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_xse:6959 · 16 Sep 2026 | 5,970 | Class III |
| Limited | as specified for grade | 112.2" WB | not stated | — | 5,0002026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_limited:6956 · 16 Sep 2026 | 5,970 | Class III |
| Hybrid Platinum | Hybrid | 112.2" WB | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_hybrid_platinum:6967 · 16 Sep 2026 | 6,000 | Class II |
| Hybrid Limited | Hybrid | 112.2" WB | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_hybrid_limited:6966 · 16 Sep 2026 | 6,000 | Class II |
| Hybrid XLE | Hybrid | 112.2" WB | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_hybrid_xle:6965 · 16 Sep 2026 | 6,000 | Class II |
Safety: Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle. Your vehicle's certification label (driver's door jamb) and owner's manual override this site.
Can the 2026 Toyota Highlander tow it?
Enter the loaded trailer weight. Tongue weight is assumed at 13% for the payload check; passengers and cargo are not included — use the full calculator for those.
Enter a trailer weight to see whether it is within every published limit for the configuration you pick.
Towing setup for the 2026 Toyota Highlander
What to fit, in order · sized to its 5,000 lb rating
This page contains sponsored product links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this works.
- See options on Amazon →
Class III receiver hitchEssential
2026 Toyota Highlander is rated to 5,000 lb, which falls in Class III (up to 8,000 lb).
- See options on Amazon →
Ball mountEssential
Ball mount drop/rise to keep the trailer level.
- See options on Amazon →
7-pin wiring harnessEssential
A 7-pin connector carries the brake-controller output and 12V charge line.
- See options on Amazon →
Trailer brake controllerHeavier trailers
Trailers over about 1,500 lb need their own brakes in most US states; thresholds vary by state.
- See options on Amazon →
Weight-distribution hitchHeavier trailers
Recommended when the trailer exceeds the manufacturer's threshold for this configuration or half the vehicle's curb weight.
- See options on Amazon →
Tow mirrorsWide trailers
Required in many states when the trailer is wider than the tow vehicle.
Links open a search filtered to this vehicle. Confirm fit with the seller before buying; the manufacturer's rating and your door-jamb label still set the limit.
Frequently asked
- How much can a 2026 Toyota Highlander tow?
- The 2026 Toyota Highlander tows up to 5,000 lb when equipped as XLE, as specified for grade, 112.2" WB (2026 Toyota Highlander specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:highlander_xle:6953, retrieved 16 Sep 2026).
- How much can a 2026 Toyota Highlander with the as specified for grade tow?
- Up to 5,000 lb, as XLE, as specified for grade, 112.2" WB. Every one of the 4 configurations with this engine is rated the same.
- How much can a 2026 Toyota Highlander with the Hybrid tow?
- Up to 3,500 lb, as Hybrid Platinum, Hybrid, 112.2" WB. Every one of the 3 configurations with this engine is rated the same.
- Can a 2026 Toyota Highlander tow 5,000 lb?
- Only in some configurations. 4 of the 7 listed for 2026 are rated at or above 5,000 lb; the lowest that qualifies is 5,000 lb as XLE, as specified for grade, 112.2" WB. The rest are rated below it, so the configuration decides.
- Which 2026 Toyota Highlander configurations can tow 5,000 lb?
- 4 of the 7 listed for 2026 are rated at or above 5,000 lb, the highest being XLE, as specified for grade, 112.2" WB at 5,000 lb. By engine, that is the as specified for grade at up to 5,000 lb. Cab, drive and axle ratio decide the rest, so check the row that matches your vehicle.
- Which Highlander configuration tows the most?
- For 2026, the highest manufacturer rating is 5,000 lb for the XLE, as specified for grade, 112.2" WB. Other engines, axle ratios and cab/drive combinations are rated lower; see the per-year table.
- What hitch class does the Highlander need?
- A 5,000 lb rating falls in Class III. Lower-rated configurations may need a lower class; the class never raises the vehicle's own rating.
- Do these ratings apply to my truck?
- Only if your vehicle matches the configuration in the row, including the axle ratio and tow package. Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle; the certification label on the driver's door jamb and the owner's manual override this site.