Toyota RAV4 Towing Capacity by Year (2017–2026)
The 2026 Toyota RAV4 tows up to 3,500 lb. Pick a year for every engine, cab and axle ratio.
Ratings on this page last changed .
Shop Class II hitches for the RAV4 →Sponsored link
3,500lb trailer
Se, as specified for grade, 105.9" WB
- GCWR
- —
- Hitch
- Class II
- Years
- 1
Maximum towing capacity by model year
| Year | Max trailer (lb) | Configuration that achieves it |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 3,5002026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_se:4524 · 16 Sep 2026 | Se, as specified for grade, 105.9" WB |
No manufacturer ratings published on this site yet for 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025.
All 9 2026 configurations · or open the 2026 page
| Trim | Engine | Bed | Drive | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | GVWR (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Se | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_se:4524 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,920 | Class II |
| XLE Premium | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_xle_premium:4444 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,920 | Class II |
| XSE | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_xse:4530 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,920 | Class II |
| Limited | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_limited:4534 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,920 | Class II |
| Woodland | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 3,5002026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_woodland:4437 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,920 | Class II |
| Se | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 1,7502026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_se:4523 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,785 | Class I |
| XLE Premium | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 1,7502026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_xle_premium:4527 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,785 | Class I |
| LE | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 1,7502026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_le:4435 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,920 | Class I |
| LE | as specified for grade | 105.9" WB | not stated | — | 1,7502026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_le:4521 · 16 Sep 2026 | 4,785 | Class I |
Safety: Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle. Your vehicle's certification label (driver's door jamb) and owner's manual override this site.
Can the 2026 Toyota RAV4 tow it?
Enter the loaded trailer weight. Tongue weight is assumed at 13% for the payload check; passengers and cargo are not included — use the full calculator for those.
Enter a trailer weight to see whether it is within every published limit for the configuration you pick.
Towing setup for the 2026 Toyota RAV4
What to fit, in order · sized to its 3,500 lb rating
This page contains sponsored product links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this works.
- See options on Amazon →
Class II receiver hitchEssential
2026 Toyota RAV4 is rated to 3,500 lb, which falls in Class II (up to 3,500 lb).
- See options on Amazon →
Ball mountEssential
Ball mount drop/rise to keep the trailer level.
- See options on Amazon →
7-pin wiring harnessEssential
A 7-pin connector carries the brake-controller output and 12V charge line.
- See options on Amazon →
Trailer brake controllerHeavier trailers
Trailers over about 1,500 lb need their own brakes in most US states; thresholds vary by state.
Links open a search filtered to this vehicle. Confirm fit with the seller before buying; the manufacturer's rating and your door-jamb label still set the limit.
Frequently asked
- How much can a 2026 Toyota RAV4 tow?
- The 2026 Toyota RAV4 tows up to 3,500 lb when equipped as Se, as specified for grade, 105.9" WB (2026 Toyota Rav4 specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:rav4_se:4524, retrieved 16 Sep 2026).
- Can a 2026 Toyota RAV4 tow 3,500 lb?
- Only in some configurations. 5 of the 9 listed for 2026 are rated at or above 3,500 lb; the lowest that qualifies is 3,500 lb as Se, as specified for grade, 105.9" WB. The rest are rated below it, so the configuration decides.
- Which 2026 Toyota RAV4 configurations can tow 3,500 lb?
- 5 of the 9 listed for 2026 are rated at or above 3,500 lb, the highest being Se, as specified for grade, 105.9" WB at 3,500 lb. By engine, that is the as specified for grade at up to 3,500 lb. Cab, drive and axle ratio decide the rest, so check the row that matches your vehicle.
- Which RAV4 configuration tows the most?
- For 2026, the highest manufacturer rating is 3,500 lb for the Se, as specified for grade, 105.9" WB. Other engines, axle ratios and cab/drive combinations are rated lower; see the per-year table.
- What hitch class does the RAV4 need?
- A 3,500 lb rating falls in Class II. Lower-rated configurations may need a lower class; the class never raises the vehicle's own rating.
- Do these ratings apply to my truck?
- Only if your vehicle matches the configuration in the row, including the axle ratio and tow package. Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle; the certification label on the driver's door jamb and the owner's manual override this site.