Toyota Tundra Towing Capacity by Year (2017–2026)
The 2026 Toyota Tundra tows up to 12,000 lb. Pick a year for every engine, cab and axle ratio.
Ratings on this page last changed .
Shop Class V hitches for the Tundra →Sponsored link
12,000lb trailer
SR5, as specified for grade, 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB, 3.31 axle
- GCWR
- —
- Hitch
- Class V
- Years
- 1
Maximum towing capacity by model year
| Year | Max trailer (lb) | Configuration that achieves it |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 12,0002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8241 · 16 Sep 2026 | SR5, as specified for grade, 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB, 3.31 axle |
No manufacturer ratings published on this site yet for 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025.
All 32 2026 configurations · or open the 2026 page
| Trim | Engine | Bed | Drive | Axle | Tow pkg | Max trailer (lb) | Payload (lb) | GVWR (lb) | Hitch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 12,0002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8241 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,830 | 7,035 | Class V |
| Limited i-FORCE MAX | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 11,4502026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_limited_i-force_max:8401 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,630 | 7,375 | Class V |
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,4002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8261 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,720 | 6,990 | Class V |
| Limited | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 11,3502026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_limited:8272 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,655 | 7,000 | Class V |
| Limited i-FORCE MAX | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 11,3502026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_limited_i-force_max:8411 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,655 | 7,465 | Class V |
| Platinum | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,3102026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_platinum:8275 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,575 | 7,045 | Class V |
| 1794 Edition | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,3102026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_1794_edition:8276 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,575 | 7,045 | Class V |
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,2702026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8281 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,775 | 7,165 | Class V |
| Limited | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 11,2302026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_limited:8282 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,685 | 7,165 | Class V |
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,2002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8341 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,775 | 7,265 | Class V |
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 11,1602026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8361 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,710 | 7,210 | Class V |
| TRD Pro | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,1302026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_trd_pro:8424 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,580 | 7,630 | Class V |
| Limited i-FORCE MAX | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 11,1302026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_limited_i-force_max:8421 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,575 | 7,615 | Class V |
| Limited | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 11,1202026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_limited:8372 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,640 | 7,230 | Class V |
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 96.5 in bed, 164.6" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,0902026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8346 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,775 | 7,375 | Class V |
| Limited i-FORCE MAX | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 11,0602026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_limited_i-force_max:8431 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,630 | 7,750 | Class V |
| Platinum | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,0502026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_platinum:8375 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,545 | 7,285 | Class V |
| 1794 Edition | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,0502026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_1794_edition:8376 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,545 | 7,285 | Class V |
| SR5 | as specified for grade | 77.7 in bed, 157.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 11,0102026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8381 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,695 | 7,340 | Class V |
| 1794 Edition i-FORCE MAX | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 10,9902026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_1794_edition_i-force_max:8423 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,510 | 7,660 | Class V |
| Platinum i-FORCE MAX | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 10,9902026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_platinum_i-force_max:8422 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,510 | 7,660 | Class V |
| Limited | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | 4WD | 3.31 | — | 10,9702026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_limited:8382 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,635 | 7,365 | Class V |
| 1794 Edition i-FORCE MAX | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 10,9602026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_1794_edition_i-force_max:8433 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,575 | 7,780 | Class V |
| Platinum i-FORCE MAX | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 10,9602026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_platinum_i-force_max:8432 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,575 | 7,780 | Class V |
| Platinum | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 10,8702026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_platinum:8385 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,545 | 7,375 | Class V |
| 1794 Edition | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 157.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 10,8702026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_1794_edition:8386 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,545 | 7,375 | Class V |
| Capstone | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 10,2902026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_capstone:8425 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,420 | 7,650 | Class V |
| SR | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 8,3002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr:8242 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,830 | 7,035 | Class IV |
| SR | as specified for grade | 96.5 in bed, 164.6" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 8,3002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr:8245 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,850 | 7,165 | Class IV |
| SR | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 8,3002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr:8248 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,720 | 6,990 | Class IV |
| SR | as specified for grade | 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 8,3002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr:8342 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,775 | 7,265 | Class IV |
| SR | as specified for grade | 65.6 in bed, 145.7" WB | not stated | 3.31 | — | 8,3002026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr:8348 · 16 Sep 2026 | 1,710 | 7,210 | Class IV |
Safety: Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle. Your vehicle's certification label (driver's door jamb) and owner's manual override this site.
Can the 2026 Toyota Tundra tow it?
Enter the loaded trailer weight. Tongue weight is assumed at 13% for the payload check; passengers and cargo are not included — use the full calculator for those.
Enter a trailer weight to see whether it is within every published limit for the configuration you pick.
Towing setup for the 2026 Toyota Tundra
What to fit, in order · sized to its 12,000 lb rating
This page contains sponsored product links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this works.
- See options on Amazon →
Class V receiver hitchEssential
2026 Toyota Tundra is rated to 12,000 lb, which falls in Class V (over 10,000 lb).
- See options on Amazon →
Ball mountEssential
Ball mount drop/rise to keep the trailer level.
- See options on Amazon →
7-pin wiring harnessEssential
A 7-pin connector carries the brake-controller output and 12V charge line.
- See options on Amazon →
Trailer brake controllerHeavier trailers
Trailers over about 1,500 lb need their own brakes in most US states; thresholds vary by state.
- See options on Amazon →
Weight-distribution hitchHeavier trailers
Recommended when the trailer exceeds the manufacturer's threshold for this configuration or half the vehicle's curb weight.
- See options on Amazon →
Tow mirrorsWide trailers
Required in many states when the trailer is wider than the tow vehicle.
Links open a search filtered to this vehicle. Confirm fit with the seller before buying; the manufacturer's rating and your door-jamb label still set the limit.
Frequently asked
- How much can a 2026 Toyota Tundra tow?
- The 2026 Toyota Tundra tows up to 12,000 lb when equipped as SR5, as specified for grade, 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB, 3.31 axle (2026 Toyota Tundra specifications (toyota.com features page), #weights-capacities:tundra_sr5:8241, retrieved 16 Sep 2026).
- Can a 2026 Toyota Tundra tow 12,000 lb?
- Only in some configurations. 1 of the 32 listed for 2026 are rated at or above 12,000 lb; the lowest that qualifies is 12,000 lb as SR5, as specified for grade, 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB, 3.31 axle. The rest are rated below it, so the configuration decides.
- Which 2026 Toyota Tundra configurations can tow 12,000 lb?
- 1 of the 32 listed for 2026 are rated at or above 12,000 lb, the highest being SR5, as specified for grade, 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB, 3.31 axle at 12,000 lb. By engine, that is the as specified for grade at up to 12,000 lb. Cab, drive and axle ratio decide the rest, so check the row that matches your vehicle.
- Which Tundra configuration tows the most?
- For 2026, the highest manufacturer rating is 12,000 lb for the SR5, as specified for grade, 77.6 in bed, 145.7" WB, 3.31 axle. Other engines, axle ratios and cab/drive combinations are rated lower; see the per-year table.
- What hitch class does the Tundra need?
- A 12,000 lb rating falls in Class V. Lower-rated configurations may need a lower class; the class never raises the vehicle's own rating.
- Do these ratings apply to my truck?
- Only if your vehicle matches the configuration in the row, including the axle ratio and tow package. Manufacturer ratings assume a properly equipped vehicle; the certification label on the driver's door jamb and the owner's manual override this site.